Dickinson County Board of Supervisors April 7, 2020

9:00 A.M. Present telephonically are Supervisors Kim Wermersen, Steve Clark, Pam Jordan, Vice-Chairperson Tim Fairchild, and William Leupold.

The pledge of allegiance to the flag was recited by those present.

Moved by Fairchild, seconded by Wermersen, to approve the March 24, 2020 Board meeting Minutes. Roll call vote: Fairchild-aye, Wermersen-aye, Clark-aye, Jordan-aye, and Leupold-aye.

Moved by Clark, seconded by Wermersen, to approve the April 1, 2020 Board meeting Minutes. Roll call vote: Clark-aye, Wermersen-aye, Jordan-aye, Fairchild-aye, and Leupold-aye.

Moved by Wermersen, seconded by Fairchild, to approve the claim against Drainage District #15 in the amount of \$3,824.00. Roll Call Vote: Wermersen-aye, Fairchild-aye, Clark-aye, Jordan-aye, and Leupold-aye

Moved by Wermersen, seconded by Fairchild, to approve the claim against Drainage District #48 in the amount of \$1,380.00. Roll Call Vote: Wermersen-aye, Fairchild-aye, Clark-aye, Jordan-aye, and Leupoldaye.

Moved by Wermersen, seconded by Jordan, to approve the claim against Drainage District #50 in the amount of \$2,248.00. Roll Call Vote: Wermersen-aye, Jordan-aye, Fairchild-aye, Clark-aye, and Leupoldaye.

There were no liquor licenses this week.

Moved by Wermersen, seconded by Fairchild, to approve the new County Domain Name from dickinsoncountyiowa.org to dickinsoncountyiowa.gov. Roll call vote: Wermersen-aye, Fairchild-aye, Clarkaye, Jordan-aye, and Leupold-aye.

Moved by Jordan, seconded by Fairchild, to approve the Purchase Agreement with CSP, LLC (1480 Lake Street in Spirit Lake.) Roll call vote: Jordan-aye, Fairchild-aye, Clark-aye, Wermersen-aye, and Leupold-aye.

Moved by Jordan, seconded by Fairchild to approve Payment Application No. 1 for NRT-C030(57)—9G-30. (Spine Trail Overlay) Roll call vote: Jordan-aye, Fairchild-aye, Clark-aye, Wermersen-aye, and Leupold-aye.

Moved by Wermersen, seconded by Clark, to make a recommendation to approve the FY2021 Secondary Road Budget as presented in January, 2020. Roll call vote: Wermersen-aye, Clark-aye, Jordan-aye, Fairchild-aye, and Leupold-aye.

Moved by Jordan, seconded by Fairchild, to make a recommendation to approve the FY 2021 – FY 2025 Secondary Road 5-year Construction Program as presented in January, 2020. Roll call vote: Jordan-aye, Fairchild-aye, Clark-aye, Wermersen-aye, and Leupold-aye.

Moved by Fairchild, seconded by Wermersen, to make a recommendation to approve Iowa DOT Agreement Number 3-20-CHBP-005 which is the Federal Funding agreement for the Bridge Replacement Project Number BROSCHBP-C030(42)—GA-30 which is also known as the Horseshoe Bend Bridge on 190th Avenue. Roll call vote: Fairchild-aye, Wermersen-aye, Clark-aye, Jordan-aye, and Leupold-aye.

Moved by Fairchild, seconded by Wermersen, to make a recommendation to approve the 28E Agreement with Sioux County for the Competitive Highway Bridge Program to bundle the bridge replacements to include the Horseshoe Bend Bridge and two bridges in Sioux County. Roll call vote: Fairchild-aye, Wermersen-aye, Clark-aye, Jordan-aye, and Leupold-aye.

Moved by Wermersen, seconded by Clark, to make a recommendation to approve Iowa DOT Agreement Number 3-20-CHBP-004 which is the Federal Funding agreement for the Bridge Replacement Project Number BROSCHBP-C030(59)—GA-30 which is also known as the Gunderson Bridge on 140th Street. Roll call vote: Wermersen-aye, Clark-aye, Jordan-aye, Fairchild-aye, and Leupold-aye.

Moved by Wermersen, seconded by Fairchild, to make a recommendation to approve the 28E Agreement with Osceola County for the Competitive Highway Bridge Program to bundle the bridge replacements to include the Gunderson Bridge on 140th Street and an Osceola County bridge. Roll call vote: Wermersenaye, Fairchild-aye, Clark-aye, Jordan-aye, and Leupold-aye.

Moved by Fairchild, seconded by Clark, to make a recommendation to approve a one-year agriculture lease with Eugene Nattress at \$206 per acre at the Neppl pit. Roll call vote: Fairchild-aye, Clark-aye, Wermersen-aye, Jordan-aye, and Leupold-aye.

Moved by Wermersen, seconded by Clark, to make a recommendation to approve Joint DD #1 D & O repair work for Dean Tuinstra in Section #17 of Silver Lake Township. The repair should be less than \$1000. Roll call vote: Wermersen-aye, Clark-aye, Jordan-aye, Fairchild-aye, and Leupold-aye.

Moved by Wermersen, seconded by Fairchild, to make a recommendation to approve Joint DD #15 repair work for Brad Graham in Section numbers 9 and 10 of Excelsior Township. The repair Could be as much as \$15,000. Roll call vote: Wermersen-aye, Fairchild-aye, Clark-aye, Jordan-aye, and Leupold-aye.

Moved by Wermersen, seconded by Clark, to make a recommendation to approve DD #19 repair work for David Frischmeyer in Section #25 of Excelsior Township. The repair should be less than \$1000. Roll call vote: Wermersen-aye, Clark-aye, Jordan-aye, Fairchild-aye, and Leupold-aye.

Moved by Clark, seconded by Fairchild, to make a recommendation to approve DD #20 repair work for Mike Resch in Section #19 of Superior Township. The repair should be less than \$1000. Roll call vote: Clark-aye, Fairchild-aye, Wermersen-aye, Jordan-aye, and Leupold-aye.

Moved by Fairchild, seconded by Clark, to make a recommendation to approve DD #25 repair work for Nolin Hoague in Section #10 of Milford Township. The repair should be less than \$4000. Roll call vote: Fairchild-aye, Clark-aye, Wermersen-aye, Jordan-aye, and Leupold-aye.

Mike Ehret, Emergency Management, spoke with the board about circumstances people are following to social distance during the Covid-19 pandemic. He spoke about seasonal people coming back from their winter homes and needing them to self quarantine as well as ways to promote to people via radio spots, newspapers, etc. Moved by Wermersen, seconded by Jordan, to approve the letter chairperson Leupold read. Roll call vote: Wermersen-aye, Jordan-aye, Clark-aye, Fairchild-aye, and Leupold-aye.

The Board gave their board and committee reports and continued into general discussion. There being no further items presented to the board, it was moved by Fairchild, seconded by Clark, to adjourn. All voted aye. The meeting adjourned to the call of the Chairperson at 10:24 a.m.

 _William Leupold, Chairperson
 Lori Pedersen, Auditor